SJICF Awards $176,700 in Scholarships for 2018-2019

13 Jun 2018, written by

2018 Friday Harbor High School scholarship recipients

Ten graduating seniors from Friday Harbor High School and two graduating seniors from Spring Street International School were awarded new scholarships for the 2018-2019 academic year from two different funds held at the San Juan Island Community Foundation.  Previous recipients of the following scholarships have also been awarded one year renewals.

Inskeep Legacy Scholarship Fund

Diego Anderson, Rhode Island School of Design: $5,000

Zachariah Fincher, University of Washington: $3,000

Savannah Hoffman, Western Washington University: $3,000

Alen Melic, Western Washington University: $4,000

Tenley Nelsen, Seattle Pacific University: $5,000

Laurel Robertson, University of Victoria: $5,000

Ana Sanabria Velazquez, Western Washington University: $8,000

Emma Schroeder, University of Victoria: $3,500

Vida Wight, Western Washington University: $2,000

Kiana Woods, Whitworth University: $3,000

Total New Applicants: $41,500

The Inskeep Legacy Scholarship Fund was established by a generous donation made by the late Jerry Inskeep, who deeply appreciated the helping hand that he received enabling him to attend college.  He left a legacy through the San Juan Island Community Foundation that will provide a permanent source of funds for the education of our island’s students.

SJICF Scholarship Fund

Otis Cooper-West, University of Washington: $10,000

Lydia Downs, Missoula College: $3,300

Gavin Guard, University of Colorado: $10,000

Blythe Parker, Midwives College of Utah: $4,000

Sierra Truesdale, Seattle University: $10,000

The SJICF Scholarship Fund was established through generous donations to the San Juan Island Community Foundation to provide San Juan Island residents with scholarships for community college, two-year college, four-year college or university, graduate school programs, or vocational/career programs.

John Volk Memorial Scholarship Fund

Nick Armstrong, University of Washington: $3,000

Levi Demaris, Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University: $3,000

Zachariah Fincher, University of Washington: $1,000

Abigail Margolis, Tel Aviv University: $1,000

The John Volk Memorial Scholarship Fund was established and is administered by the San Juan Island Pilots Association and honors one of our finest citizens who served us all through his tireless volunteer service, both on the ground and in the air.

Marcia L. Zakarison M.D. Scholarship Fund

Zachariah Fincher, University of Washington: $400

Emma Schroeder, University of Victoria: $1,000

This scholarship is provided in the name of Dr. Marcia Zakarison, a local physician, who believed that every young person should have an equal opportunity to receive the best education possible. This scholarship is for graduating high school seniors, on San Juan Island, pursuing a career in human medicine.

Inskeep Legacy Scholarship Renewals

The following students were previous recipients of Inskeep Legacy Scholarships and have been awarded another one-year scholarship for the 2018-2019 academic year.

Isabella Brown, Santa Clara University: $3,500

Eli Cooper-West, University of Washington: $3,000

Melanie Cope, University of Washington: $5,000

Griffin Cuomo, Chapman University: $7,000

Sophia Dillery, Seattle University: $5,000

Isabel Gabriel, University of Washington: $5,000

Kai Herko, Clark University: $5,000

Sammantha Hopkins, Linfield College: $4,000

Sophia Marinkovich, Western Washington University: $5,000

Hayden Mayer, Western Washington University: $4,000

Alexa Mora, Central Washington University: $4,000

Samantha Pluff, University of Washington: $5,000

Madeline Schroeder, Seattle University: $5,000

Madden Shanks, Central Washington University: $6,000

Thomas Synoground, Washington State University: $8,000

Nayaleah Tucker-Belt, Western Washington University: $7,000

Corbin Williams, University of Washington: $3,000

Echo Wood, University of Washington: $4,000

Total Reapplicants: $88,500

If you would like information about the Foundation’s scholarship funds or would like to contribute, call Carrie Unpingco, Executive Director, at 360-378-1001.

Promote This Post